Woodhaven's Colin Czajkowski named MHSBCA's Mr. Baseball for 2019

Woodhaven's Colin Czajkowski named MHSBCA's Mr. Baseball for 2019
BY: MATTHEW B. MOWERY Jun 20, 11:55am

The season may be over, but there’s still hardware to give out.

Colin Czajkowski of Brownstown Woodhaven was named the Michigan High School Baseball Coaches’ Mr. Baseball for 2019, picking up his award at the All-Star Game banquet on Wednesday night.

He’s slated to play in this year’s MHSBCA East-West All-Star Baseball Classic at Comerica Park Thursday night (weather permitting). 

Signed to play next year for the University of Michigan, Czajkowski went 11-1 on the mound, with an ERA of 0.42, six shutouts and a save, striking out 123 and walking 25, allowing just 10 runs total and four earned runs in 66 innings pitched. Opponents hit a paltry .117 against him, and got on base at just a .224 clip. 

As a hitter, Czajkowski posted a .404 average (.503 on-base percentage, .596 slugging, 1.099 OPS), walking 24 times and striking out just 12. He scored 45 runs and drove in 47, finishing with 14 doubles, one triple and two home runs. 

Earlier in the spring, Czajkowski also brought home the Gatorade Michigan Baseball Player of the Year award. 

Previous winners of the MHSBCA Mr. Baseball award:

2018 — Spencer Schwellenbach, Saginaw Heritage

2017 — Sam Weatherly, Howell

2016 — Tommy Henry, Portage Northern

2015 — Nick Plummer, Birmingham Brother Rice

2014 — Zack McGuire, Sterling Heights Stevenson

2013 — Carmen Benedetti, Grosse Pointe South and Jackson Lamb, Temperance-Bedford

2012 — Justin Alleman, Holt and Alex Darr, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett

2011 — Eric Haase, Dearborn Divine Child

2010 — Alex Zeiher, Saline

2009 — Daniel Fields, University of Detroit Jesuit

2008 — Tyler Mills, Mt. Pleasant and William Arnold, Mt. Pleasant

2007 — D.J. LeMahieu, Birmingham Brother Rice

2006 — Dan Holcomb, Homer and Dale Cornstubble, Homer

2005 — Zack Putnam, Ann Arbor Pioneer

2004 — Doug Pickens, Birmingham Brother Rice

2003 — Nick Thurman, Warren Mott

2002 — Chris Getz, Grosse Pointe South and Randy Frye, Lake Orion

2001 — Jon Koch, Berrien Springs

2000 — Nate McLouth, Whitehall and Scott Koerber, Grosse Pointe North

1999 — Casey Rogowski, Redford Catholic Central

1998 — Drew Henson, Brighton

1997 — Ryan Kyes, Detroit Country Day

1996 — Matt Sheets, Jenison

1995 — J.J. Putz, Trenton

1994 — Dave Kauflin, Clinton Twp. Chippewa Valley

1993 — Jason Middlebrook, Grass Lake

1992 — Derek Jeter, Kalamazoo Central

1991 — Ron Hollis, Brighton

1990 — Aaron Knieper, Saginaw Nouvel Catholic

1989 — Steve Nowak, Gaylord St. Mary

1988 — Steve Avery, Taylor Kennedy

1987 — Dan Hilliard, Monroe

1986 — Mike Ericson, Harper Woods Bishop Gallagher